Resources on Faith, Ethics and Public Life

Religious Organizations in China

The Chinese government recognizes five religions—Buddhism, Christianity, Catholicism, Daoism, Islam—that can legally operate in China, each having a corresponding official association institutionalized by the central government. Any religious community or organization must join and register under one of these five official associations, which is overseen by the State Administration for Religious Affairs, for its religious organization and practices to be recognized as legal and legitimate. This bilingual collection provides an introduction to the five officially sanctioned religious organizations in China: the Buddhist Association of China, Taoist Association of China, Islamic Association of China, Three-Self Patriotic Movement, and Chinese Patriotic Catholic Association.
back to top